vSphere inside of VMWare Workstation 7.0


Follow on to my post on running ESX inside of VMWare Workstation 6.5.  I’ve finally taken the plunge and spent the $100.00 (yeah these are tough times) and upgraded to VMWare Workstation 7.0.  The best feature to me has been the ability to run vSphere natively within VMWare Workstation.  The install takes minutes and I haven’t run into any major issues.

My biggest issue is lack of memory on my workstation.  My desktop has 6GB of memory and has an older Intel Quad Core processor.  My laptop is an i3 with only 4GB of memory.  The new Dell 9100’s can be expanded to a whopping 24GB of RAM.  That’s pretty nice and would make for a great virtualization home lab.

The only problem is that the 24GB of memory is a $660 upgrade option and Dell forces you to upgrade to Windows 7 Professional at another $130.00.  That’s $790 to get the memory I’m looking for in my lab.  If I had a difficult time justifying the $100 upgrade to 7.0 just guess what I’m thinking on paying $2k for my new home rig.

Dell 9100

Well while I’m fantasying about a new desktop I’ve went ahead and ordered 2 DDR3 4GB modules for my laptop that will take me up to 8GB of RAM.  I’m not too excited about it because I do very little lab work on my laptop because it’s just inconvenient.

4 thoughts on “vSphere inside of VMWare Workstation 7.0”

  1. Interesting…you are spending too much…right.

    May I suggest the following? You can upgrade the processor (AMD Phenom II X6 1090T = $200) and add more RAM (16GB = $180) when you have the money.

    AMD Athlon II X4 640 Propus 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor ADX640WFGMBOX
    $100

    GIGABYTE GA-880GA-UD3H AM3 AMD 880G HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
    $110

    Crucial 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Desktop Memory Model CT51264BA1339
    $45 x2 = $90

    Seagate Barracuda XT ST33000651AS 3TB 7200 RPM
    $240 x2 = $480

    COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M600 RS-600-AMBA-D3 600W ATX12V V2.3
    $80

    Total = $860
    Newegg.com

    Microsoft Technet Professional Subscription = $349
    Full access to almost all Microsoft workstation and server software for testing purposes.

    I wouldn’t buy the Dell for a test lab workstation. Good luck.

  2. I thought about going the AMD route the big difference is the 24GB of RAM you can get with the Intel platform. The additional 8GB of RAM makes a HUGE difference in virtualization.

    When you talk about cascading VM’s that takes a lot of RAM.

    Also, I would use it for my home workstation. I thought about getting a laptop that supports 16GB of RAM as a compromise but they cost $6K.

Leave a Reply

