Onlive to compete with Citrix?


The streaming game company Onlive.com recently introduced a managed streaming desktop service.  Currently the only client available is for the iPAD.  I’ve used several streaming Windows desktop products for the iPad including XenDesktop, Logmein and GoToMyPC and I have to tell you this is one of the more fluid and enjoyable experiences I’ve had to date.  I’m really tempted to sign up for the paid service once they release the PC client.

The long range business plan is to offer managed desktops for the enterprise.  IBM has been offering desktops in the cloud for a while and I’ve often wondered how this desktop delivery method would actually work from a practical since when the data exists within the enterprise and the desktop outside.  I can see a market for small business but as for the enterprise I’m not so sure at this point.  As far as the technology is concerned?  I’m impressed with what I’ve seen so far.

Leave a Reply

